||Taiyuan Airport Pick-up Service. $62/person
||Taiyuan Airport Drop-off Service.$62/person
||Taiyuan Train Station Pick-up Service.
||Taiyuan Train Station Drop-off Service.$46/person
|Tour Code & Duration
Non-private Bus Tour Attractions
||PingYao Ancient City, Courtyard of Family Qiao One Day Tour. $92/person
||Tianlongshan Grottos, Jinci Temple, Mengshan Giant Buddha One Day Tour.$92/person
||Hougou Ancient Town, Mansion of The Chang’s One Day Tour. $77/person
Tour to Jinci Temple, Chongshan Monastery, Twin
Taiyuan is the capital city of Shanxi Province. Located in the
center of the province, it is also the political, economic and
cultural center of Shanxi.
Taiyuan is a city bounded on three sides by mountains. It has a long
history and in ancient times was an important military town. At
present, Taiyuan is one of China's heavy industrial cities and
account for more than half the national coal mining output.
Taiyuan also has a wealth of tourist attractions and notably among
these is the Jinci Temple. This is the city's most attractive temple
although the Shuangta Si (Twin-Pagoda Temple) has become a symbol of
Taiyuan on account of its unique architecture. Another major
attraction is the Tianlong Shan Stone Caves where magnificent
sculptures dating from the Tang Dynasty (618-907) may be seen.
Taiyuan benefits from convenient public transport systems as the
city is the provincial transportation hub. Accommodation facilities
have become more and more advanced over recent years and range from
5-star hotels to a selection of comfortable guest houses.
The gourmand should be aware that Shanxi noodles are highly reputed
all over China, as well as the local vinegar. Other local delicacies
are the Tou Nao, the Steamed Dumpling, Sausages and Mutton Soup. To
accompany these wholesome foods there are Fen Jiu (Fen Wine) and
Zhuye Qing (Zhuye Qing Wine). As well as its cuisine the city is
noted for products such as finely crafted lacquer ware.
Initially built in the Tang Dynasty (618-907), the Chongshan
Monastery (Temple for Appreciating Kindliness) was once called White
Horse Monastery (Baima Si). It is located in Huangmiao Lane, Wuyi
Road, Taiyuan City, Shanxi Province. In 1383, in memory of his
mother, Zhu Gang, third son of Emperor Zhu Yuanzhang (1328-1398),
first emperor of the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) had the monastery
rebuilt and extended, renaming it Chongshan Monastery.
Construction was completed in 1391. The layout of the splendid
palace-like monastery is evident from the extant Chongshan Monastery
Construction Plan. Covering an area of 245 mu (40.4 acres), the
Chongshan Monastery was obviously magnificent.
However, during the reign of Emperor Tongzhi (1856-1875) of the Qing
Dynasty, the monastery was almost reduced to ashes. Today only
one-fortieth of the monastery survives, including the Bell Tower,
the Dabei Hall, and the east and west wing rooms. Local governments
have restored some of its former brilliance to the monastery.
Chongshan SiIn these surviving monastery buildings are three
splendid treasures. One is the sutras. Chongshan Monastery is famous
for the original edition of the sutras of the Song, Jin, Yuan, Ming
and Qing dynasties kept here. The oldest sutra has a history of over
1000 years. The second treasure is the 'Gem Paintings,' copies of
two frescos still retaining their bright colors after 500 years. The
third treasure is three gilded Ming Dynasty mud statues of
Bodhisattvas all about 8 meters (26.2 feet) high. In the middle is
Kwan-yin Goddess of Mercy, with her one thousand hands and eyes. All
three statues still retain their florid colors and smooth lines,
rare artworks of the Ming Dynasty.
A Buddhist temple, Chongshan Monastery has become a key cultural
relic under the protection of Shanxi Province and home to the
Buddhist Association of Shanxi Province. The precious sutra and
Taoist scriptures are not only examples of Chinese woodblock
printing history, but of ancient Chinese calligraphy and carving
arts luring accomplished monks, scholars and other visitors.
Located 25 kilometers (16 miles) to the southeast of downtown
Taiyuan City, Jinci Temple is a combination of historical cultural
relics and beautiful landscapes. The welcoming boughs of a multitude
of ancient trees provide an eye-catching entrance to the temple.
Beyond this, the numerous halls, cabinets, pavilions and bridges are
guaranteed to keep any visitor enthralled. Jinci Temple is
world-famous because it is an ancient ancestral temple, something
that is rare in China.
Jinci Temple has a long history, which can be traced back to the
Western Zhou Dynasty (11th century BC to 711 BC), when King Cheng
made his younger brother Yu a leader of one of his states. Yu was an
intelligent leader who devoted all his energies to making the state
prosperous, so his descendants built a temple for him after his
death, in order to honor his achievement.
The Iron Statues Terrace Saint Mother Hall, the oldest building in
the temple, is one of the main reasons that so many visitors come to
the temple. Together with the Flying Bridge across the Fish Pond,
and the Offerings Hall, these exquisite buildings provide evidence
of a new era in Chinese architecture. For example, the Flying Bridge
across the Fish Pond is the only one of its kind that exists now;
accordingly, it plays an important role in an investigation of the
ancient bridges of China.
There are three additional wonders that draw people from across the
world to the temple. These are: The Figures of The Maidservants, the
Zhou Cypress and the Never Aging Spring. Each of the Figures of the
Maidservants that stand in the Saint Mother Hall, colored clay
sculptures made during the Song Dynasty (960-1279), are unique.
Whether these statuettes are washing, sweeping or dancing, they are
all sculpted in a vivid and natural way.
42 colored clay figures of maidservants from the Song Dynasty Jinci
Temple was, to a certain extent, an imperial garden. Accordingly,
some three hundred tablets were inscribed for it with writings by
emperors, officials and poets, and these now line a scenic path in
the temple. In 646, the most famous stele was written by the Emperor
Taizong of the Tang Dynasty, and it was kept in a pavilion which is
now known as 'Zhen Guan Bao Han Pavilion'. Taizong was one of the
great emperors of Chinese history. The time from which he inherited
the throne from his father became known as the Prosperity of
Zhenguan, and people referred to the calligraphy written by him as '
Bao Han', meaning a kind of treasure.
Twin Pagoda Temple:
The Twin Pogoda Temple (Shuang Ta Si), also known by the name 'Yongzuo
Temple' (Yong Zuo Si), is located in the southeast of Taiyuan City,
Shanxi Province. There are two 53-meter-tall pagodas standing in the
temple, hence the name 'Twin Pagoda Temple'. History records reveal
that the temple and two pagodas were built under the Emperor Wanli's
order in 1608 during the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644).
Each of the pagodas has 13 stories and is made entirely of bricks
and stone. The exterior was sculptured in the shape of an octagon
and decorated with the exquisite flying eaves. An internal staircase
was added so that visitors can climb to the top of the pagoda and
gaze far afield.
All of the buildings in this temple were constructed with bricks.
The brick-carved posts and brackets of the temple perfectly
demonstrate the features of ancient Chinese architecture. It's worth
mentioning that a rare collection of steles have been stored in the
temple that contain the handwriting of famous ancient Chinese
calligraphers from various dynasties such as Wang Xizhi (303-361),
Yan Zhenqing (709-785), Liu Zongyuan (773-819), and Su Dongpo
The best time to visit the temple is in spring (April and May) when
all the peony and cloves are in their full bloom. These beautiful
flowers are said to have been planted during the Ming Dynasty and
their beauty indeed makes the old temple more elegant and appealing.